Art of the Spanish Americas

The Foundation’s Art of the Spanish Americas collection numbers more than 200 works from the 17th to 19th centuries—principally paintings from South America. The collection includes works on religious themes and portraits from the Viceroyalty of Peru (and the smaller entities such as the Kingdom of Nueva Granada into which it was divided in the eighteenth century), as well as a small selection of portraits from the Spanish Caribbean.

During the several centuries-long rule of Spain over large parts of South America, painters and sculptors in that region did not often sign their works of art. It was not even a usual practice among recognized masters, whose signatures appear only occasionally, so that identification of their bodies of work depends on stylistic analysis.

Selected Artists

Andrés Solano
Baltasar Vargas de Figueroa
Bernardo Bitti
Cipriano de Toledo y Gutiérrez
Diego Antonio de Landaeta
Diego Quispe Tito
Eliab Metcalf
Gregorio Vásquez de Arce y Ceballos
Joaquín Gutiérrez
José Campeche y Jordán
José Sánchez
Joseph Antonio Jiménez
Juan Francisco de Rosa
Juan Pedro López
Mateo Pérez de Alesio
Melchor Pérez Holguín
Pedro José Díaz
Workshop of Bernardo Rodríguez

Selected Artworks