2018 Recipients
Mary Flanagan & Dawn Chan

Mary Flanagan and Dawn Chan

2018 arts writing award in digital art recipients

Mary Flanagan received $40,000 in recognition of her sustained dedication to the field as an established arts writer. Flanagan has been writing about digital art since the 1990s, with a particular focus on virtual spaces and games. She is the author of Critical Play: Radical Game Design (MIT, 2009) and co-author of Values at Play in Digital Games (2014) and Similitudini. Simboli. Simulacri. (Unicolpi, 2005). Flanagan is co-editor of the collections Reload: Rethinking Women in Cyberculture (MIT, 2003) and Re:Skin (MIT, 2006). Throughout her career, she has been interested in women’s relationship to technology, games, and activism. Flanagan is the Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor of Digital Humanities at Dartmouth College and leads the design research laboratory Tiltfactor.org.

Dawn Chan received $20,000 in recognition of her exceptional promise as an emerging arts writer. With a background in computer vision and artificial intelligence research, Chan uses art criticism to confront the identity politics embodied in digital art. Chan’s writing appears in Artforum, where she was an editor from 2007 to 2018, and theatlantic.com, Bookforum, The New York Times, the NewYorker.com, New York Magazine, the Paris Review, Village Voice, and Vogue.com. A former visiting critic at RISD, MICA, and CCNY, she is currently a visiting scholar at NYU’s Center for Experimental Humanities.

Read more about the 2018 recipients here!

about the award

The Arts Writing Awards are the first of their kind to devote substantial funding to writing about digital art, including scholarship, history, criticism, and theory. Each year, two awardees—an established and an emerging arts writer—are chosen by a committee based on the merits of their writing, its rigor, engagement with pressing issues, and grasp of the history of the field. Their writing may address compelling uses of digital technologies in contemporary art, issues related to the preservation, conservation, and interpretation of digital art practices, or the impact of developing technologies on the cultural landscape of the arts. The 2018 Arts Writing Award offers for the first time a fully-funded Robert Rauschenberg Residency of 5-6 weeks in duration.