Digital Arts Writing Award

Grants & Awards

2018 Recipients: Mary Flanagan & Dawn Chan

June 20, 2018


Mary Flanagan received $40,000 in recognition of her sustained dedication to the field as an established arts writer. Flanagan has been writing about digital art since the 1990s, with a particular focus on virtual spaces and games. She is the author of Critical Play: Radical Game Design (MIT, 2009) and co-author of Values at Play in Digital Games (2014) and Similitudini. Simboli. Simulacri. (Unicolpi, 2005). Flanagan is co-editor of the collections Reload: Rethinking Women in Cyberculture (MIT, 2003) and Re:Skin (MIT, 2006). Throughout her career, she has been interested in women’s relationship to technology, games, and activism. Flanagan is the Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor of Digital Humanities at Dartmouth College and leads the design research laboratory

Dawn Chan received $20,000 in recognition of her exceptional promise as an emerging arts writer. With a background in computer vision and artificial intelligence research, Chan uses art criticism to confront the identity politics embodied in digital art. Chan’s writing appears in Artforum, where she was an editor from 2007 to 2018, and, Bookforum, The New York Times, the, New York Magazine, the Paris Review, Village Voice, and A former visiting critic at RISD, MICA, and CCNY, she is currently a visiting scholar at NYU’s Center for Experimental Humanities.

Read more about the 2018 recipients here!

Return to Foundation News